KARL‘s 'village square'

KARL München - Gartenhof Dorfplatz
The heart of KARL is the garden courtyard designed by Enzo Enea. It becomes a lively place of communication and encounter.
Enzo Enea is more than an award-winning landscape architect with offices in Rapperswil-Jona, Zurich, Miami and New York. A passionate tree collector, he has created a worldwide unique tree museum with over 3,000 exclusive trees and shrubs in a breathtakingly beautiful 180 acres park on the upper shores of Lake Zurich in Rapperswil-Jona. With the Tree Museum he has expressed his vision of a carefully curated interaction of landscape, botany, architecture, art and design.
KARL München - Enzo Enea, Landschaftsarchitekt
Enzo Enea, award-winning landscape architect
KARL München - Gartenhof Skizze
A hand-drawn sketch for KARL by Enzo Enea
“The KARL garden courtyard with its high recreational quality becomes a meeting place. A kind of modern village square for the knowledge workers of tomorrow.” Enzo Enea
KARL München - Innenhof - Dining
Zoning creates spaces for retreat and encounters
The heart of KARL, the urban garden designed by Swiss landscape architect Enzo Enea on an area totalling about 17,000 sq ft., offers high recreational value. This lively place of communication and encounter is conceived as a contemporary village square that each employee crosses daily on their way to the office.

Permanently installed external seats between yew arbours as well as flexible seating invite users to linger, while intelligent zoning offers both retreat and informal meeting spaces. At KARL, the focus is on people and nature.









A striking solitary tree, which has grown in the region and is planted in the inner courtyard of KARL, and magnolias that bloom in the spring render the seasons tangible within KARL. As an evergreen base, gently curved yew hedges form an attractive contrast to the modern practicality of Chipperfield‘s architecture.

The garden courtyard offers office users relaxing views of greenery. A large water basin combined with the lush vegetation provides a healthy micro-climate









KARL München - Innenhof - Eibenhecke
Curved yew hedges form an attractive contrast to the modern practicality of Chipperfield's architecture.
KARL München - Gartehof Innenhof
Water and plants provide a healthy micro-climate that ventilates the offices.

Der „Dorfplatz” des KARL

KARL München - Gartenhof Dorfplatz
Das Herz des KARL bildet der von Enzo Enea gestaltete Gartenhof. Er wird zum lebendigen Ort der Kommunikation und Begegnung
Enzo Enea ist mehr als ein preisgekrönter Landschaftsarchitekt mit Büros in Rapperswil-Jona, Zürich, Miami und New York. Als passionierter Baumsammler hat er in einem atemberaubend schönen, 75.000 m² großen Park am Oberen Zürichsee in Rapperswil-Jona ein weltweit einmaliges Baummuseum mit über 3.000 exklusiven Gehölzen geschaffen. Mit dem Baummuseum hat er seiner Vision eines sorgfältig kuratierten Zusammenwirkens von Landschaft, Botanik, Architektur, Kunst und Design Ausdruck verliehen.
KARL München - Enzo Enea, Landschaftsarchitekt
Enzo Enea, preisgekrönter Landschaftsarchitekt
KARL München - Gartenhof Skizze
Handskizze für das KARL von Enzo Enea
„Der Garten des KARL mit seiner hohen Aufenthaltsqualität wird zum zentralen Treffpunkt. Eine Art moderner „Dorfplatz” für die Wissensarbeiter von Morgen.“ Enzo Enea
KARL München - Innenhof - Dining
Zonierungen schaffen Rückzugs- und Begegnungsräume
Das Herzstück des KARL ist der 1.600 m² große urbane Garten. Dieser lebendige Ort der Kommunikation und Begegnung ist als zeitgenössischer Dorfplatz konzipiert, den jeder Mitarbeiter täglich auf seinem Weg zum Büro durchquert.

Fest installierte Außensitzplätze zwischen Eibenwellen sowie eine flexible Bestuhlung laden zum Verweilen ein. Dabei bieten intelligente Zonierungen sowohl Rückzugs- als auch informelle Begegnungsräume. Bei KARL stehen Mensch und Natur im Vordergrund.









Ein markanter Solitärbaum, welcher in der Region gewachsen ist und in den Innenhof des KARL verpflanzt wird, sowie im Frühjahr blühende Magnolien machen die Jahreszeiten im KARL erlebbar. Als immergrüne Basis bilden sanft geschwungene Eibenhecken einen attraktiven Kontrast zur modernen Sachlichkeit der Architektur Chipperfields.

Der Gartenhof bietet den Büronutzern entspannende Ausblicke ins Grüne. Ein großes Wasserbecken sorgt in Kombination mit der üppigen Bepflanzung für ein gesundes Mikroklima.









KARL München - Innenhof - Eibenhecke
Geschwungene Eibenhecken bilden einen attraktiven Kontrast zur modernen Sachlichkeit der Architektur Chipperfields
KARL München - Gartehof Innenhof
Wasser und Pflanzen sorgen für ein gesundes Mikroklima, das die Büros beatmet